Author Topic: 1930 BTH Head Lamp Question  (Read 186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline douglas1947

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 331
  • Location: Germany
1930 BTH Head Lamp Question
« on: 09 Jan 2020 at 17:20 »
I restore a 1930 Douglas H3 with original BTH electric, and have to renew it.

Im not shure about the main bulb socket. This socket in the center( for 2 wire bulb) is fixed by an unusual clamp. This bulb was connected to a dip switch on the handle bar.
Is someone common to the BTH Lamp switch to help?

But I think the main bulb was a single wire bulb and the "dim" light was switched on the headlamp switch(the 2nd bulb on top of the unit).

I will try to send a photo.

Thanks
Michael

Offline douglas1947

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 331
  • Location: Germany
Re: 1930 BTH Head Lamp Question
« Reply #1 on: 09 Jan 2020 at 17:22 »
Extra photo of the lamp.

Offline richard s1

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 26
  • Location: Burnley
Re: 1930 BTH Head Lamp Question
« Reply #2 on: 21 Jan 2020 at 20:59 »
Hello Michael

The bulbs and sockets look correct and in excellent condition.  There should be a dipswitch and a twin filament bulb which should ideally be a
 6v 12/12w, and the pilot and rear light bulbs 6v 3w.  The wattage is so low because the BTH dynamo kicks out a very small amount of power.

On my T6 I used a 6v 36/36w bulb and that gave me about an hours light before the battery went flat, but the light was at least  reasonable. With the 12/12w bulb the current was balanced, but the beam hardly went beyond the front wheel. A candle in a jam jar wouldn't have been much worse!!
 
What you have got looks very original.

Cheers   Richard

Offline douglas1947

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 331
  • Location: Germany
Re: 1930 BTH Head Lamp Question
« Reply #3 on: 22 Jan 2020 at 15:36 »
Hello Richard,

thanks for your informations.
next I have to find out the right connection for the wires   on the switch, because I have to do a new wire harness.
The dim beam has a direct wire from the switch, but I have not found the point for the wire to feed the dip switch.

Michael

 

motorcycle