Author Topic: Douglas 1928 SW5 or OHV  (Read 8014 times)

Offline Ryser Kaspar

Douglas 1928 SW5 or OHV
« on: 19 Jun 2016 at 15:52 »
Hello Friends
I have e problem with my Douglas ca. 1928 SW5 or OHV. The camshaft is brocken an i need e other one. But i dont know is it e SW5 or e OHV. Can any body help me? I live in switzerland.  Engine Nr. is EL 1380.
Greetings.
Kaspar Ryser
Amsoldingen CH
« Last Edit: 19 Jun 2016 at 16:11 by Ryser Kaspar »

Offline cardan

• Master Member
    • Leon's Vintage Motorcycle Page
Re: Douglas 1928 SW5 or OHV
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jun 2016 at 03:53 »

Hi Kaspar,

Wow, that cam really is worn out! It's hard to imagine that it was allowed to wear so far. Perhaps it is not properly lubricated?

The EL prefix is certainly for the DT5/SW5 engine. I'm not an expert on these, but yours seems to be the later "small air-box" version, around 1929-30 build I suppose, but someone here might be able to date it accurately.

The bike is based on something earlier, perhaps Model OC. What is the frame number (on the gearbox platform near the seat post)? The gearbox looks to be one of the Sturmey Archer boxes commonly adapted to Douglases.

I'm not sure about the cam shaft itself, but I think Doug might still have DT cam followers. Have a look in the "for sale" part of the site.

Best regards

Leon

Offline cardan

• Master Member
    • Leon's Vintage Motorcycle Page

Offline Doug

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: 20 Jun 2016 at 06:17 »
Kaspar,

EL1380 is a Dirt Track (DT) crankcase and the number is high enough to have been shipped from the factory in 1932 (EL1296 shipped in 05Jul32), but essentially is the same as 1930-31 model. It looks to retain the DT cylinder heads and the 'small' airbox. The frame and forks look to be model OB.