Author Topic: How did they figure horsepower in the early Douglases?  (Read 14434 times)

Offline Dave

• Administrator
Up until about the mid-1920's Douglas described their models as 2-3/4hp, 3-1/2hp, 4hp etc. Then in the mid-1920's they appeared to have dropped this reference to horsepower and described their engines purely in capacity (cc).

I was wondering, how would they have calculated "horsepower" in those days - 2-3/4hp seems quite a precise calculation? Surely they didn't have dynamometers?

Also, has anyone come across any mention in any Douglas material, about this apparent change in the way engines were described?

Offline Ian

• Master Member
How did they figure horsepower in the early Douglases?
« Reply #1 on: 09 Jun 2005 at 22:24 »
Dave, the horsepower figure have no relation to actual horsepower. I am not an expert on this but my understanding is it was an arbitary calculation which effected the way vehicles were taxed. I think it was originally based purely on capacity so  3.5 is a 500, 4 is a 600, etc. This was consistent across all manufacturers. At some stage they changed the way this was calculated and it was based on the bore size only which is why many english cars had very long stroke motors - to get round the tax laws. I have a 1928 Sunbeam car which is rated at 16.2hp but actually developed about 4 times that amount !!

Online Doug

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: 10 Jun 2005 at 03:10 »
Dave,