Author Topic: Amps  (Read 2282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Graham prichard

  • Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: basildon essex
Amps
« on: 21 Jul 2015 at 17:38 »
Hi all, I'm going for test ride at night test the new charging ,
When I put lights on, amps go into discharge on amp meter
Does this mean lights will drain battery.

Offline eddie

  • Master Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 1765
  • Location: Hampshire, UK
Re: Amps
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jul 2015 at 19:09 »
Hi, Graham,
                     In a word 'Yes'.
   If your dynamo has been out of use for some considerable time, it may have lost it's residual magnetism - so wont generate any charge. To restore the magnetism, remove the 2 wires from the dynamo. Then with another length of wire, connect the 'F' terminal on the dynamo to the live side of the battery for a few seconds - be careful, the wire may get hot, as there will be quite a discharge. Having done this, reconnect the 2 dynamo wires, and start the engine. Providing the dynamo is OK, it should now show a healthy charge.

   Regards,
                  Eddie.

Offline Graham prichard

  • Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: basildon essex
Re: Amps
« Reply #2 on: 22 Jul 2015 at 17:26 »
I will do this as soon as I get a bit of time ,just had armature done, and yes it had sat around a long time, Eddie I have same problem on 500 royal enfield can I do the same thing this sat about for years many thanks

Offline eddie

  • Master Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 1765
  • Location: Hampshire, UK
Re: Amps
« Reply #3 on: 23 Jul 2015 at 06:53 »
Hello Graham,
                     Yes, that should work with any Lucas or Miller dynamo.

     Eddie.

 

motorcycle