Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 2665 times)

Offline Highlander

Introduction
« on: 09 May 2015 at 05:33 »
Hi, I would just like to introduce myself to the forum, I initially emailed the secretary of the London Douglas motorcycle club who has directed me to this forum, it's probably just as easy to copy and paste my email along with the response from Roy Staunton. If you're reading this Roy, thanks for your quick response. To everyone else, any advice regarding the content of my email would be greatly appreciated. I understand I have no prior experience with the Douglas motorcycle so feel free to speak your mind, and no offence taken should some of you have the opinion "walk away from this mad notion" !!

Below email with response from Roy,
Regrads, Highlander

Dear Sir/s,

I am approaching you seeking advice, I have recently moved back to the UK after having spent some 20 years abroad.
I have spent most of my adult life surrounded by bikes, albeit more modern versions and my interests were competing in racing, only at hobby level.
Now that I am settled back in the UK I would like to explore the options of purchasing a classic bike, hence the reason for contact yourselves.
Basically, the bottom line is I have fell in love with the DT5 and the EW350, given the choice I'd opt for the DT5. with its racing connections. You are correct in assuming my choice isn't based on any previous knowledge, it is based purely on seeing pictures and my amazement at the workmanship and engineering that existed back in those days. After reading up on the history of the machines and based on the fact I do have a technical background, the aspect of taking on something like this doesn't fill me with fear, I see it as more of a "healthy challenge"