Author Topic: Introduction - New Dragonfly Owner in NE Surrey/South London  (Read 2225 times)

Offline andy1303

Hi All,

My name is Andy and I've just purchased my first Douglas - a 1957 Dragonfly. I was first introduced to them by a friend who owned one during (I assume) the sixties. The stories of bike ownership during that period and classic bikes over a cuppa before work and, to my mind, the good looks of the Dragonfly made it desirable. So after a house move last year and a reduction in storage space I decided to sell my kitcar and get something smaller. I've been riding motorbikes for over 20 years so I had a shortlist of bikes I've always wanted to own (one of the others being a Ducati 916!) but the Dragonfly won out and I've now purchased Dave Nicholson's bike which I believe at least one or two member will know.

For those that don't know I believe Dave had some starting issues, with the kickstart jamming, which I believe he worked through but never got to the point where he had the time to get her back up and running. So I have a complete but not started Dragonfly.

My options lie in either stripping the engine/box again to see if I (or someone who actually knows what they're looking at) can see any potential gotchas, or filling the oil up, putting some new petrol in it and seeing what happens... not sure which way is the best yet but once I can shake off the nasty cold I've got I'll have to make a decision - unless anyone has any opinions or suggestions.

Either way, I've joined the LDMCC, so I hope to meet some owners soon, and look forward to enjoying some lovely summer afternoons on my new purchase.

Andy

Offline hvirtanen

Did you already check, if the kickstart is still jammed?

Or what is going on with it?
Kickstart pedal slipping?

with best,

-hv

Offline David Lawrence

Hi Andy,
Glad to hear you have now got thw Dragonfly.