Author Topic: Can't post with pictures...  (Read 5928 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Can't post with pictures...
« on: 26 Oct 2014 at 12:14 »
Just checking as I have been trying to post for one hour now on Safari and Chrome with no luck
« Last Edit: 26 Oct 2014 at 17:23 by Doug »
Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline Doug

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 3543
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #1 on: 26 Oct 2014 at 17:28 »
Alex,

I do not use Safari or Chrome, just IE and FireFox. Will have to wait for Dave, who dies run Google Chrome as a browser.

We did have some issues where photos would not post due to having GPS and other personal data still embedded (the photos in question had originated from a smartphone). Some of this metadata the forum software saw as a potential security issue. But that should have been changed so that the metadata is automatically stripped out.

-Doug
« Last Edit: 26 Oct 2014 at 19:23 by Doug »

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 3264
  • Location: Australia
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #2 on: 26 Oct 2014 at 18:09 »
Hi Alex,

Can you tell us exactly what happens when you try to post using Chrome please? Do any error messages appear on the screen?

Dave

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #3 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 11:37 »
OK I just upgraded my Mac to latest OS so let see what happens.
I have posted before with no problems?
OK tried to post again with chrome and just got a blank screen. Now I have removed to the File...

I will try Safari next

Other issue which is a little annoying is this error:

Sorry! There is already an attachment with the same filename as the one you tried to upload. Please rename the file and try again

Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #4 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 11:41 »
Now trying with Safari

Still same problem:(

Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #5 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 11:47 »
Now trying with Safari with a picture from a different camera.

Got this error again Sorry! There is already an attachment with the same filename as the one you tried to upload. Please rename the file and try again.

Ill rename it with a random name
Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #6 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 11:51 »
OK that worked with from different camera phone

Going to try same previous picture but re resize the picture to 800 x 450

Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #7 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 11:55 »
Not sure what to say.

Previous pictures were very large in size and just saved with lower quality to reduce to around 500kb.

The  one of me driving the messerschmitt was 179kb and 720 * 1278

So its doesn't seem to be a browser issue but the picture issue.

The lsat one I posted that i coldn't post before I just resized it, which naturally brings the size down well before 500 kb

Alex
Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 3264
  • Location: Australia
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #8 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 17:30 »
Alex,

Your solution of renaming the file is correct.

The error message you received:

"Sorry! There is already an attachment with the same filename as the one you tried to upload. Please rename the file and try again."

explains the problem. As more members attach more images to their posts, images with generic names like '001.jpg' will be rejected, because a photo of the same name has already been posted by someone else.

Please see this topic for more information - Error messages when attaching files to posts

Regarding the size of attached images, the current limits are fairly large - 4000kB per image and up to 20 images per post. So I doubt this was contributing to the problem.

However, please note that all attachments are automatically re-sized by the forum software to display at a maximum width of 900 pixels. This re-sizing process takes a little time and slows the page load time. The image also loses a little quality during this automatic re-sizing process.

If you have the ability to re-size images using some photo processing software before you attach them, then it is best to post attachments using a width of 900 pixels. Your images will load faster for readers and appear better quality.

Dave



Offline alexd912

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 111
  • Location: Finland
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #9 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 18:24 »
The thing was even when I renamed the pics it still locked  up.

Well at least i can post it now.

I just wish I could sell those parts:)
Best regards
Alex
1930 Douglas G31

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 3264
  • Location: Australia
Re: Can't post with pictures...
« Reply #10 on: 27 Oct 2014 at 18:52 »
Alex,

Quote from: Alex
The thing was even when I renamed the pics it still locked up.

What do you mean by "locked up"?

Did you receive the same error message - "Sorry! There is already an attachment with the same filename..."? Or was this a different problem?

Please describe what happened in as much detail as you can remember.

Dave