Author Topic: New 90+ owner  (Read 2438 times)

Offline pre65

New 90+ owner
« on: 04 Feb 2013 at 13:06 »
Hello everybody,
                       As the title suggests I am new to Douglas ownership and the use of a Forum such as this,
I have acquired a 90+ which is registered as being 1950 with engine and gearbox numbers containing X90 it is a one owner/user from new.
It appears to be complete with the exception of two items, a stand return spring and the cover for gearbox sprocket/cush drive, help in obtaining those items would be appreciated.The bike is fitted with Bowden racing carbs (they look new) I have no experience or knowledge of these instruments so any help/info would be good.
 I have not attempted to start the bike yet, it has been standing for some years and all the brightwork has suffered but the clutch freed at first prod on the kickstart and compression seemed very high for a 350 twin.
The bike is ex Ron Coleman from London area this may ring a few bells with more knowledgeable members.
Any help or advice will be appreciated.
Graham  :)

Offline cardan

• Master Member
    • Leon's Vintage Motorcycle Page
Re: New 90+ owner
« Reply #1 on: 04 Feb 2013 at 21:14 »
Hi Graham,

Sounds like a great find!

Just a word of warning. I recently obtained a bike that had been standing for a few years (more than 60 in my case). Luckily I stripped it before I tried to start it, because an awful lot of muck, grime, dust and spider droppings had found their way deep inside the engine. You may not need to strip your bike, but do use a torch to look into the ports (exhaust as well - some pretty tenacious insects like dark place), down the plug hole, into breathers, etc. Also drain the crankcase and look for dirty stuff.

Have fun!

Leon

Offline David Lawrence

Re: New 90+ owner
« Reply #2 on: 05 Feb 2013 at 23:20 »
Hi Graham,