Author Topic: douglas registration ?  (Read 2872 times)

Offline cware05

douglas registration ?
« on: 25 Aug 2012 at 18:30 »
Hi I joined this forum some time ago and asked a few questions then life took over till now.

I even joined the London Douglas club but never really got anywhere.

I live in outer London and don't know anyone else who shares my interest and am approaching this as a complete novice with old bikes ( my oldest to date has been a 1975 so there is a bit of a backwards jump)

I have a 1932 a32 terrier almost complete apart from flywheel clutch and primary chain,and possibly a couple of small nuts bolts and the like,I also have a duplicate engine and forks.

my question is can i get the complete one registered ( only a buff log book and number plate fitted to the bike)

how much more would i need to register the other engine and forks as a bike  at the same time ( eg purchase a frame,wheels etc)

is it even worth trying on a meagre budget (i lecture automotive engineering so the technical parts shouldn't be a problem if i can get hold of information)

I am sorry if this is a common well travelled conversation but i have no idea of the process of registering a long "disappeared" bike and I am not going to restore anything if it then ends up being a fight to ride it,no matter how beautiful they look.

the only reason i am re-starting the investigation is that the bike has been in the family for over 40 years and was supposed to have been a championship level speedway machine.

cheers
Darren

Just re-read this and wanted to clarify that i wanted to build the original bike as a sort of show bike to keep in the family  but if i could somehow cobble together another rough and ready one to hit the road and actually put some miles on it but not worry overly much about complete originality if it worked well,as i would like to travel to some distant events and not have to be bothered about weather etc .
« Last Edit: 25 Aug 2012 at 18:36 by cware05 »