Author Topic: Mechanical advice and comraderie  (Read 8794 times)

Offline Patrick

Mechanical advice and comraderie
« on: 25 Sep 2004 at 01:39 »
I am honored to be the person asked to resurrect GY1616, the bike that Robert Edison Fulton, Jr. rode around the world in 1932/1933.
His story, and the bike, is chronicled in "One Man Caravan".
I am a mechanic by trade, I have this bike running, but there are still a couple things that are a mystery to me.
I believe the bike is a 1932, 600cc, T6.
Am wishing to correspond with mechanics knowledgeable about some of the unfamiliar (to me) monkey motion on this special old bike.
Once I become familiar with this website, I'll post some flics and notable  details. Regards, Patrick

Offline T35

Re: Mechanical advice and comraderie
« Reply #1 on: 25 Sep 2004 at 10:32 »
Quote from: "Patrick"
I am honored to be the person asked to resurrect GY1616, the bike that Robert Edison Fulton, Jr. rode around the world in 1932/1933. His story, and the bike, is chronicled in "One Man Caravan".
I am a mechanic by trade, I have this bike running, but there are still a couple things that are a mystery to me.
I believe the bike is a 1932, 600cc, T6.
Am wishing to correspond with mechanics knowledgeable about some of the unfamiliar (to me) monkey motion on this special old bike.
Once I become familiar with this website, I'll post some flics and notable  details. Regards, Patrick

Hi Patrick,
Welcome to the forum and thanks for joining - that's an interesting restoration you've been charged with and I for one will be endeavouring to run down a copy of  "One Man Caravan" - I have already searched the title and it appears that it wont be hard to secure a copy - I will leave it to those better equipped to discuss the technical aspects of your project - I'm sure the right sort of advice will be forthcoming, but please keep us informed and post those pictures and details soon.
Regards,
Alwyn

Offline Doug

• Global Moderator