Author Topic: Fulton cams  (Read 7070 times)

Offline Dewey

Fulton cams
« on: 07 Oct 2011 at 00:22 »
Hi all -
I have the honor of restoring the Fulton Douglas engine. I'm new to Douglas but motorcycles and engines have always been my passion. I've taken a lot of pics through the teardown process and wanted to share some of my findings with other Douglas enthusiasts. The first 2 pics are of the cams that came out of this engine. Note that they are very different from each other. The intake looks fairly normal while the exhaust is quite aggressive. I did a quick mock up of the engine (not perfect but reasonably close) to get an idea as to the valve events more for documentation than anything else. My desire is to find an exhaust cam of the same profile as the intake. I may have to have the existing exhaust cam built up and ground back down to meet these specs if a direct replacement can't be found. Just one of many issues within the engine.

My findings were intake opens 30deg., closes 52, lift .303", duration 262, centerline 101deg.
                       exhaust opens 60deg., closes 30, lift .301", duration 270, centerline 103deg.
                                                                      (cam wear)
                      LCA = 103deg.

Pretty radical for a touring flattie.

« Last Edit: 12 Oct 2011 at 18:04 by Dave »

Offline Doug

• Administrator
Re: Fulton cams
« Reply #1 on: 07 Oct 2011 at 02:33 »
Dewey,

Yes the inlet and exhaust cams are distinctly different. Actually the exhaust cam is what you would typically expect to see with a roller tapper follower. The inlet is more typical with flat or large radius tappets.

Stock timing is:
Inlet opens 5 deg BTDC
Inlet closes 45 deg ABDC (230 deg duration)
Exhaust opens 60 deg BBDC
Exhaust closes 20 deg ATDC (260 deg duration)

Valve lift for both is 0.3125 inch