Author Topic: 1911 2 3/4 Restoration - Plated Carburettor  (Read 8969 times)

Offline Chris54

1911 2 3/4 Restoration - Plated Carburettor
« on: 24 Jul 2013 at 07:29 »
Hi All, I am new to Douglas and this forum, we, my friend Tony and I are restoring two 1911 2 3/4 hp model D.
We have one bike about 80% complete, just have to make a fuel tank now, complete with all The fittings, if any drawings of the fittings are available this would help, up until now we have been measuring parts on other bikes to make parts, seems to have worked along with copying the original parts we have, for the second bike, Oh the second bike, not so much of a restoration as a complete build, the frame and wheels are mostly missing, we really need to find another frame and wheels, anyone out there know of their whereabouts ?
we have engine parts spare which may interest someone, a pair of cylinders, crank cases and crankshaft. I am making parts for the engine of the second bike, as i do this I make double the amount so the third engine is becoming more complete, I am working on the gears and valve gear at the moment.
Just finished fabricating the carburettor for the second engine (have made the parts for another one but not silver soldered it up yet) see attached photo, i will have a go at nickle plating the carb, anyone know if they were bright on matt plated.
Lots to do before pioneer run 2014 !!!!
Chris

Larger view

Larger view
« Last Edit: 25 Jul 2013 at 20:04 by Dave »

Offline Chris54

Re: 1911 2 3/4 Restoration - Plated Carburettor
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jul 2013 at 06:42 »
Well I plated it dull to start with but it showed every finger mark,
So I found the metal polish, didn't take much rubbing to bring it up.
I guess the originals would have been bright plated.

Offline cardan

• Master Member
    • Leon's Vintage Motorcycle Page
« Reply #2 on: 27 Jul 2013 at 08:11 »