Author Topic: Repairing a Douglas 350 comp crank.  (Read 3527 times)

Offline AndyH

Repairing a Douglas 350 comp crank.
« on: 01 Sep 2015 at 22:26 »
I hope this is of interest to someone, having spent nearly two years rebuilding a very old comp that has been in the family for 40 years you can imagine my disappointment at the big ends tapping slightly on only my 2nd short road trip.

So I stripped the crank out and sure enough there was 10 thou play in one big end and 20 thou in the other.

So having asked about a little and tried a few local companies who didn't fancy the rebuild I decided to have a look at it myself. Certainly a journey into the unknown as I have never done a crank before and was a little bit unsure if myself or the equipment I had was upto the job.

I had also read all the articles on here regarding crank rebuilds and decided this was going to have to be handled very carefully to have any chance of success. Many thanks to Eddie for all his informative responses.

So this is the story of my first crank rebuild and some of the pitfalls. I am certainly no expert and this is not designed to be a tutorial, merely my observations, good and bad.

I have a 1950's Harrison lathe, so I started up by mounting the crank between two centres and checking the run out, this was pretty good just 2 thou either end on the shafts. I checked the webs were parallel by measuring them outside to outside at the top and bottom and they were nearly spot on just 0.04mm out. There was 9 thou clearance side play on the big ends.

Now luckily I have a spare crank for a Plus model that's been in a parts box for 30 years and the big ends seemed like they might be okay, however it has a longer bearing mount at the front so won't fit in the comp and it was absolutely filthy as well. I checked this between the centres and it had 8 thou of run out on the shafts, 10 thou clearance on the big ends and again the crank webs were just 0.04mm out.