Author Topic: 80/90 Plus Gearing  (Read 6004 times)

Offline ccmman

80/90 Plus Gearing
« on: 19 May 2019 at 08:04 »
Have now got the engine running really well, though still running in, which is tricky on such a cammy engine!

But the gearing has me completely flummoxed. LJKS talks about a close ratio box on his 90, my box is the complete opposite. The first three gears seem ok, then top is crazily high.

At 2000rpm in top the bike is doing 55mph, which equates to 192mph at 7000 rpm!

My gearbox sprocket/rear wheel sprocket ratio is 17/53 or 3.12:1.

Any advice please, I am confused!

Offline Clive

Re: 80/90 Plus Gearing
« Reply #1 on: 19 May 2019 at 08:13 »
Dont forget the bevel gears in the gearbox which must be at least 2to1 may be more
Regards Clive

Offline ccmman

« Reply #2 on: 19 May 2019 at 10:06 »
This is the problem Clive, I'm not good at motorcycle gearing. I'm not clear where the gearing is measured.
To me, it makes most sense to refer to the engine revs/back wheel revs, because that gives you actual rea-life gearing.
In that case, my bike does just under 3 engine revs for every rear wheel rev in top. That means, say, 2.8:1.
Now take the figures I found on a factory spec sheet for the Plus 80:

1st  17.2:1, 2nd  10.6:1, 3rd  7.78:1, and top  6.17:1.

Clearly nothing like 2.8:1, so how are these figures arrived at? Is it engine revs to gearbox output sprocket maybe?

Offline ccmman

« Reply #3 on: 19 May 2019 at 10:11 »
I meant to add, the factory figures I quoted show the gap between 3rd and top being 7.78:1 and 6.17:1, which looks like a nice close jump, whereas on my bike there is a massive gulf between 3rd and top.

The sun is shining here, so Im going to go for a blast, meet my mate for a Sunday lunchtime beer, and will check the speed at 2k revs in 3rd and top and report back.

Thanks

Offline eddie

• Master Member
« Reply #4 on: 19 May 2019 at 10:48 »
ccmman,