Author Topic: 1925 douglas TS valve cap pins  (Read 6016 times)

Offline tck

• old racer
1925 douglas TS valve cap pins
« on: 29 Apr 2015 at 14:08 »
What material should I use for these pins that hold the valve spring retainers? my pins are mangled but it looks like they were a push fit in the round hole in the valve and then reduced to a D section both sides and bent out slightly to prevent them falling out is that a correct reconstruction?

Offline tck

• old racer
Re: 1925 douglas TS valve cap pins
« Reply #1 on: 29 Apr 2015 at 16:10 »
Looking at one pin that is marginally better it looks like they are simply a length of round rod but still unsure what material would be suitable..

Offline midman

« Reply #2 on: 29 Apr 2015 at 23:53 »
I've been told that a proper size drill bit cut off works fine.

Offline eddie

• Master Member
« Reply #3 on: 30 Apr 2015 at 06:37 »
I have been using needle rollers for the last 10 years and have never had any problems with either bending or breakage. I have also heard of others making use of offcuts of old spokes as they are made of a high tensile steel.

Eddie.

Offline Chris

• Master Member
« Reply #4 on: 30 Apr 2015 at 06:54 »
Hi all