Author Topic: Buying a Pioneer Douglas — advice please  (Read 2652 times)

Offline SteveC

Buying a Pioneer Douglas — advice please
« on: 28 Apr 2020 at 15:41 »
 Hello everyone. Pleased to meet you. I'm a newbie and I'm hoping you brand experts will give me some help

Many years ago I was allowed to ride a 1913 Douglas I didn't own in the Pioneer Run and then in the Graham Walker Run. It confirmed what I'd been told by influential adults all my life — that Douglases re special.

Ever since those days (mid-1980s) I've thought about buying my own Pioneer Douglas, but either not got around to it or missed buying the right bike by a hair's breadth. I've just had a big birthday and now's the time to get serious. Or I'll never do it, which would be a pity.
Here's my request...

I'd like to know the most suitable Pioneer Douglas model for me. I'm a bloke of 6'1" and around 15 1/2 stone. I know I could go for something with a bigger engine, but I'm not interested in them. I like the Douglas for all the reasons you do: history, docility, simplicity, smoothness. Besides, the 2 3/4hp bike I borrowed was fine.

I get the feeling I should be looking for a 1912-onwards bike with engine lower in the frame, and a mechanical inlet valve. But is there more to it than that? Please tell. I want this bike to take me on some nice adventures over the next few years: Pioneer, Graham Walker, Banbury and local events.

Last thing: does anyone have a suitable machine they want to sell? I'm a cash buyr (once lockdown is over). Needs a Pioneer certificate and to be totally healthy, though previous experience with a concours bike (Vincent) leads me away from those. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards, all
SteveC

Offline Black Sheep

Re: Buying a Pioneer Douglas — advice please
« Reply #1 on: 29 Apr 2020 at 15:36 »