Author Topic: Hi, a newbie here  (Read 5834 times)

Offline KP161

Hi, a newbie here
« on: 02 Mar 2013 at 15:48 »
Hi guys, very happy i found this forum :)

wondering if anyone can help me get some more info on this bike. I'm guessing early to mid 30's but can't find the same tank details on any of the pics in the "what have i got" section
my grandfather (who i never has the opportunity to meet) was with KNMV and was on the racing and stunt riding teams (Jan Brugmans), and then rode for the army

it's far from the greatest image but anything you guys could tell me would be greatly appreciated, i'd like to get my hands on one of these
any information too that i might get on his racing career would be a HUGE bouns (i can't find squat...)

much thanks....
Marty

« Last Edit: 05 May 2013 at 22:41 by Dave »

Offline Resto-Rob

Re: Hi, a newbie here
« Reply #1 on: 03 Mar 2013 at 08:03 »
Hi there and welcome to the family :)
It is very hard to tell from the photo but it looks very similar to the C32 Douglas.  The other experts on the forum can confirm this.  If so the it was a 500cc machine from 1932.  They are very lightweight as they use the 350cc frame so this would have been good for stunt work?!
If this turns out to be the bike then i know of one for sale.  You can contact me via the forum.
Good luck! :)

Offline Resto-Rob

« Reply #2 on: 03 Mar 2013 at 09:12 »
I think the main point of identification is the spring location on the girder forks. Two springs, One on either side of the steering stem rather then one in the centre.  The tank details are different from anything i have seen but then again if your grandfather was in a team then maybe they had a different paint job on the tank? The center panel on the tank looks very narrow to be standard? To me this still looks very much like the C32, it cant be the ohv 1931 model as there is no sign of the gearshift on the side of the tank.  The location of the oil feed glass could also an indication of the model?