Author Topic: Mark 4 wiring diagram & centre stand spring  (Read 8318 times)

Offline Radiofree

Mark 4 wiring diagram & centre stand spring
« on: 02 Aug 2008 at 18:33 »
Hi
I am new to these bikes. Does anyone have a wiring diagram for the Mk4 or Mk 5. My bike does not appear to have a kill button so want to wire one in.
Also I can't seem to get anything to do the job right on the centre stand, the spring is useless. I bought a handful and none of them seem to work. A lovely ali stand though!  :)
radiofree

Hi a big thanks to Eddy. I have also found JOHN's pdf that looks useful.
It appears my battery case and that area of the bile are a bit dodged so no lugs. I saw that someone said the parts book is available on PDF. Does anyone have this or is there a way to purchase it?
thanks, learning day by day, previously 1970s Brit biker!
doug
« Last Edit: 03 Aug 2008 at 12:14 by Radiofree »

Offline eddie

• Master Member
Re: Mark 4 wiring diagram & centre stand spring
« Reply #1 on: 02 Aug 2008 at 19:27 »
Hi,
     If you only need to wire in a kill button, you don't really need the full wiring diagram. The original kill button was identical to the horn button and was just wired direct to the points cover on the magdyno - it just killed the ignition by shorting it to earth. Regarding the spring for the centre stand - if you are a member they can be obtained from the LDMCC spares scheme. This spring attaches to a bolt screwed into a lug on the side of the stand to operate over centre so that it keeps the stand down as well as up. The fixed end of the spring attaches to a small lug on the back of the battery carrier. There is also a spring clip bolted to the front end of the back mudguard that also retains the stand in the 'up' position.
                                                Regards,
                                                             Eddie.

Offline Radiofree

« Reply #2 on: 03 Aug 2008 at 09:56 »
Eddie