Author Topic: 350 terrier  (Read 5675 times)

Offline cware05

350 terrier
« on: 13 Aug 2007 at 20:30 »
hi i am quite new to this so you will have to bear with me initially,i have 1 nearly complete 1932 terrier with buff logbook and a large quantity of the parts of another (less frame)but including engine and forks.
what constitutes a bike for a v5c log book as i would like to build both really?
can parts still be found for these bikes as i don't see any postings about this model wherever i look,just dragonfly's and t 35s mainly?
thanks

Offline Doug

• Administrator
Re: 350 terrier
« Reply #1 on: 14 Aug 2007 at 04:16 »
While not that common, parts for the 1930s models are about; but it does take patience. It would not be so bad were it one of the big side valve twins, as they were reasonably popular by Douglas standards, but the lightweight twins were losing out to other makes.

What you really need to do is start is start educating yourself as to which bits remained unchanged or very similar for the models immediately preceding and following the Terrier. For instance, a Terrier is nothing more than the previous year's A31. It might have carried through into the following year, but Douglas production in 1933 is a very murky field. The B31 was a sump model, so it has, of course, as sump and also a different frame. The crankcase is machined accordingly, but much of the rest of the engine shares the same bits as the A31, and so the Terrier. Also a lot of the smaller cycle bits would be the same, but by comparing the catalog pictures you will see that the different frame called for many subtle differences so careful study is warranted.